22 European Countries Sign Blockchain Partnership Declaration

22 European countries have signed a Declaration on the Establishment of a European Blockchain Partnership. It is expected that this event will provide impetus to the development of collaboration between the Members to exchange expertise and experience in regulatory and technical spheres, as well as get prepared for the launch of EU blockchain technologies across the Digital Single Market. Both private and public sectors should benefit from this move.

The countries that have signed the Declaration are the following: Germany, Austria, Malta, Spain, Poland, Czech Republic, Finland, Norway, Bulgaria, Lithuania, UK, Sweden, France, Netherlands, Latvia, Slovenia, Belgium, Ireland, Portugal, Estonia, Luxembourg and Slovakia.

The European Commission has so far invested 80 million euro into societal and technological blockchain projects. Furthermore, the Commission is going to invest 300 million euro more for these purposes in the nearest future.